Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

8th Grade Research and Communications Class: Research Class Vocabulary List

Vocabulary Terms

VOCABULARY FOR 8th Grade RESEARCH CLASS

Weeks 1 and 2

direct quotation                                            using someone else’s words exactly as they are written

paraphrase                                                    using someone else’s ideas and putting them in your own words

source                                                            in research, a place that you find information

documenting                                                recording information that allows another person to locate the source that you have used for your paper; also called "citing"

plagiarism                                                     to steal or pass off the ideas or words of another as one's own; to use someone else's ideas or words without crediting the source

bibliographic citation                                   a detailed reference to a source, commonly used to document and attribute information found 

copyright date                                               date of creation or publication of an item                      

common knowledge                                    facts or ideas that are known by many and general in nature

URL                                                               internet address (uniform resource locator)

ebooks                                                           electronic books, books read on an electronic device such as a Kindle, ipad, or computer

OPAC                                                               online public access catalog

call number                                                    the address of a book, DVD, etc. in a library

keyword search                                             searching a word that is used anywhere in a record's description or title

subject search                                                searching for what the resource is "about" using subject lists made by experts

series search                                                searching for books in a fiction or non-fiction series of similar or connected titles

reference books                                            books written for research that give broad overviews of topics

ISBN number                                                 the numbered barcode on the back of any print book, used to quickly cite it

Reminders of discussions - (1) using the MBA online catalog; (2) touring the library stacks; (3) the value of book research; (4) the purpose of reference books.

 

Weeks 3 - 4 Vocabulary

authority                                                          refers to the credentials of the author or institution that publishes an internet website or a periodical (magazine) article

credibility                                                        refers to the “believability” of an internet article or website

accuracy                                                          infers that an internet article or website is completely without factual error

currency                                                          infers that an internet article or website is up-to-date

database                                       a system to organize and store large amounts of data easily; access is often by subject; most libraries pay fees for databases

primary source                                              a document or physical object that was written or created during the time under study

secondary source                        a source that interprets or analyzes primary sources; may have pictures, quotes, or graphics or primary sources in them

Google Scholar                                             a research tool within Google designed for scholarly information gathering

Intitle search                                                 a search in Google Scholar that only looks for terms in article titles

Site restrict operator                                    a Google search function that limits search results to particular kinds of websites

Search algorithm                                          a mathematical function that turns a search or input into results or output

Internet bubble                              according to Eli Pariser, the combination of information sources people use to base their everyday knowledge on - includes political ideas and others

Wikipedia                                       an encyclopedia that allows anonymous public input, although editors and administrators have ultimate control over what long-term content shows for each article

John Siegenthaler                         a journalist from Nashville who was famously defamed on Wikipedia and turned his experience into a public scandal about the dangers of anonymous journalism

Reminders of discussions - (1) using MBA's One Search and databases; (2) searching Google effectively; (3) Internet bubbles and the challenges to effective research; (4) the role of Wikipedia in research.

Weeks 5-6 Vocabulary

public domain item                      a creative work that is not protected by copyright and may be used freely; includes works where the terms of copyright have expired or if it is a government work

thesis statement                          unifying sentence in a research paper that states the argument presented in the paper

persistent link                              permanent URL to a particular article in a database; also called durable links, or stable links

copyright                                                       legal protection of an idea or work from being borrowed without credit

plagiarism                                    taking an idea or work, whether in your own words or not, from someone else without giving appropriate credit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

parenthetical citation                                     a reference in the body of a research paper to one of the sources listed in your Works Cited                                                                                              list when there is a direct quotation or a paraphrase; usually enclosed in parentheses; use last                                                                                        name of person or entity and the page number if given

evidence-

examples

logic

statistics

testimony

general vs. specific arguments

spatial skills-skills built by some video games that relate to a player's ability to mentally map out spaces

modding

Columbine shooting-Aurora, lonestar collegel, Newtown

sedentary lifestyle-

edutainment-educational video game that is entertaining at the same time

ludology-study of effects of video games

hand-eye coordination

exergaming-video games that include exercise, i.e. Wiifit

MMORPGs - Massively Multiplayer Online Role-playing Games

first-person shooter games

Devil's advocate argument

 

search operator

site restrict

 

periodicals

wiki

form

content