OneSearch ...... library resources in one spot!
Country Information
- National GeographicSearches issues from 1888 to the present.
- World News Digest with World Almanac This link opens in a new window Find facts on:Economy, Business, and EnergyHealth and Vital StatisticsScience and TechnologyConsumer InformationNations of the World World History and Culture
Green Building Websites
- EPA on Green BuildingWebsite of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- U. S. Green Building Council (LEED)LEED, or Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, is redefining the way we think about the places where we live, work and learn. As an internationally recognized mark of excellence, LEED provides building owners and operators with a framework for identifying and implementing practical and measurable green building design, construction, operations and maintenance solutions.
CultureGrams
Global Issues in Context
Coverage of countries and issues, emphasizing a global perspective, which includes podcast, videos, primary sources, world newspaper articles, reference encyclopedias, links to government and organization websites, and interactive graphs, tables, and charts.
Databases and Journal Articles
- GreenFILE/EBSCO Research DatabasesGreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts together with links to Open Access full text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.
- Science in ContextContains journal articles and ebooks in environmental science, the field that is concerned with the study of the natural environment and the effects on that environment of human activity and natural events.
About Ecosystems
- The Encyclopedia of EarthThis encyclopedia is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society (Wikipedia). Contributors to the Encyclopedia of Earth are made up of scientists, educators, and professionals within the environmental field who are vetted by the Environmental Information Coalition (EIC) Stewardship Committee.
General Encyclopedias
Great for finding general information about ecosystems or countries. Remember, you'll need usernames and passwords if you are researching off campus. See the box on this page for the off-campus link.