Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Search Oxford Art
|A comprehensive reference resource for all aspects of the visual art world from pre-history to the present day which allows users access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links, 5,000 images, and world art timelines; includes full-text of The Dictionary of Artand The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Off Campus Access to Databases and Ebooks
The Advanced Search features allow for more specific searches, including the ability to specify which sources you wish to search. Click on the Advanced Search link below the quick search box and choose from among the following options:
- Main Search: In addition to searching the full text, you can search for terms appearing in article titles, contributors' names, or bibliographies, in any source.
- Image Search: Search captions and keywords associated with images. You can also search the Grove links to images on museum and gallery websites.
- Biography Search: Search any source for articles on people by name, occupation, nationality, and year or place of birth and/or death.
- Bibliography Search: Search any source for citations by author/editor name, book/journal title, chapter/article title, or by year of publication.