Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Ebook: The Civil Rights Movement
While general in nature, encyclopedias often provide a starting point to obtain a general overview of an event or a person.
Primary Sources for U.S. History
What is a primary source?
A primary source is first hand evidence. It was there at the time of an event. It is contemporary to the period being studied. Examples of primary sources are speeches, letters, songs, legislation, court decisions, journals/diaries, interviews, artifacts, autobiographies, and photographs.
Primary Sources Wiki
Be sure to scroll down and find the "Event Specific" section, where you will find several sites concerning civil rights.
American Memory Collection
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept forever.
Interested in finding information about a particular person, organization, event, or element of American history? Twelve subject categories help you explore various themes and locate the facts you're after and provides a list of topics and people and the webisodes in which you can find their stories. Or simply enter a word or phrase about the issue you are researching.
Destiny, MBA's online catalog, has preselected websites on Webpath Express. In addition to summaries for each website, you may filter the content by grade level and domain. To access, use the link below, choose MBA Library Catalog, then the link to Webpath Express on the catalog tab.
Featured eBooks about Vietnam in Gale Virtual Reference Library
Click on the link below, scroll down to history, then choose view all. Remember you'll need usernames and passwords if you are off campus!
American History Online
This resource contains biographies, subject entries, primary sources, timelines, image galleries, and map galleries.
ABC-CLIO History Databases
Four interactive programs that use primary documents, video, audio, and maps, to cover units in American History, American Government, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, and World History: The Modern Era.
Off-Campus Access to Databases and Ebooks
Refer to this if you need usernames and passwords when not on campus. You must log in to the MBA website to see this list.