Latin America Webquest (McMurray 8th Grade): Books and Ebooks

Every volume in this series contains Culture Profiles that explore each nation's background, practices, beliefs, laws, peoples, and more, ensuring users receive a complete, three-dimensional understanding of the countries they research. Every Culture Profile contains a picture of the country's flag and two large colored maps, one highlighting the country's location in its region of the world and the other detailing the capital, major cities, and major natural landmarks. An Introduction provides general information about each country, such as its Population, Official Language(s), Physical Size, Climate, Currency, and National Motto/Anthem. Subsequent sections dive deep into a diverse array of topics, including: Environment & Geography, Customs & Courtesies, Lifestyle, Arts & Entertainment, Cultural Sites & Landmarks, Libraries & Museums, Holidays, Youth Culture, Cultural History, Transportation, Infrastructure, Media & Communications, Standard of Living, Education, Women's Rights, Health Care, Government, Tourism, Agriculture, and the Economy. Every Culture Profile ends with a list of Off- Beat Facts, such as origins of familiar words or unique traditions only found in the featured nation.

A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.

The North American continent (above Mexico) and islands located in the Caribbean Sea are examined in this volume. Includes profiles of: Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, the Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Canada, Cuba, Curacao and Sint Maarten (ex-Netherlands Antilles), Dominica, Dominican Republic, Greenland, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, the United States, and Virgin Islands.

This brand-new series from Salem Press provides valuable insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices and beliefs of nearly every nation around the globe.

North Americans know that their New World is only part of what Columbus discovered in 1492. In this 4-vol. set, in appealing form, is the story of the other Americas -- the borderlands of Old (and New) Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, and South America. Derived from Scribners Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, yet enriched with new art and current events, this set introduces students to a world as familiar as Christopher Columbus and our Latino heritage, as foreign as the jungles of the Amazon and ancient citadel of Machu Picchu. Here are the beauty of Haitian folk art and the beat of Brazils bossa nova-along with the brutality of Salvadoran death squads and Argentine disappearances.| In A-Z format, 749 articles are complemented by 60 color and more than 200 black-and-white pictures and maps. Boxed special features, topical and general chronologies, and marginal definitions are some of the aids that make this set appropriate for every school and public library.|PIM|31-MAY-18|01

Was there ever a people like the Inkas? Using slingshots, clubs and stone-tipped spears, this small Andean tribe conquered an area spanning 2,500 miles. Without the use of the wheel, they built a vast and sophisticated network of roads. Without an alphabet, they administered a population of ten million people. With the most primitive of tools, they built cities of stone. Machu Picchu is as astonishing as its builders. Set in a remote, inaccessible area of the high Andes, this breathtaking city was never found by the Spanish Conquistadores. It is an untouched example of the genius of the Inkas. Machu Picchu tells the story about the rise of the Inkas and the building of this great city.

The North American continent (above Mexico) and islands located in the Caribbean Sea are examined in this volume. Includes profiles of: Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, the Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Canada, Cuba, Curacao and Sint Maarten (ex-Netherlands Antilles), Dominica, Dominican Republic, Greenland, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, the United States, and Virgin Islands.

Provides information on the visitor facilities, history, and climate of national parks in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru, and Surinam.

No longer does the study of geography mean just memorizing names and locations of places. Today, geography is the understanding the characteristics of places and the complex interconnections among them. This new edition of World Geography is arranged into six volumes by world region: North America and the Caribbean; South and Central America; Africa; Europe; Asia; Australia; Oceania, and the Antarctic.