Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Vietnam War Websites
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
This database provides links to full-text, primary documents in American history from 1000 AD to the present. United States documents are organized by presidential administration.
Declaration of Independence of the Democratic Republic of Vietnam
"On September 2, 1945, Ho Chi Minh proclaimed the independent Democratic Republic of Vietnam in Hanoi’s Ba Dinh square. The first lines of his speech repeated verbatim the famous second paragraph of America’s 1776 Declaration of Independence."
Experiencing War: Stories from the Veterans History Project
From the Library of Congress, American Folklife Center, this is a collection of video oral histories and additional material—memoirs (some lengthy), letters, diaries, photo albums, scrapbooks, poetry, artwork, and official documents—from American veterans of 20th-century wars. The site currently provides digital materials from 4,351 veterans from World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, the Persian Gulf War, Afghanistan and the Iraq War, and other similar events.
History and Politics Outloud
This site is a "... searchable archive of politically significant audio materials ... and is a component of the 'Historical Voices' funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities in partnership with the Michigan State University."
Library of Congress: Webcasts
Searching for the Vietnam War, you will find webcasts that include autobiography, poetry, a talk by Tim O'Brien, and a number of other presentations by historians, writers, commentators, and political figures. The Library of Congress webcasts are not limited to history;however, but also include the sciences, the arts, religion, technology and a wide variety of other fields
Life Photo Archives
Hosted by Google Images, the LIFE magazine photo archives allows you to search millions of photographs from the 1750s to the present.
National Security Archive: The Pentagon Papers
“A collection of textual and audio documents concerning ‘arguably the most important Supreme Court case ever on freedom of the press.’ The case revolved around the 1971 decision to lift prior restraint orders instigated by the Nixon Administration to prohibit publication of the government’s secret historical collection of documents labeled ‘United States-Vietnam Relations 1945–1967.’ These quickly became known to the world as the ‘Pentagon Papers’.”
Sixties Project & Viet Nam Generation
Sponsored by the Viet Nam Generation, Inc., and the Institute of Advanced Technology in the Humanities at the University of Virginia, this site is a resource for teaching and researching America in the 1960s and during the Vietnam War.
U. S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs: Agent Orange
The U.S. military sprayed millions of gallons of Agent Orange and other herbicides on trees and vegetation during the Vietnam War. Several decades later, concerns about the health effects from these chemicals continue.
The Vietnam Veterans Oral History and Folklore Project
Directed out of Buffalo State College, "The Vietnam Veterans Oral History and Folklore Project is engaged in an ongoing undertaking to collect, preserve and make better known the folklore, especially the folksongs, of Americans in war." What distinguishes this site is its focus on " ... the songs made by the American men and women, civilian and military, who served ... (in Vietnam), for themselves."
The Wars for Vietnam: 1945–1975
An introduction to the history of the Vietnam War, this site was developed for a course taught by Robert Brigham in the history department at Vassar College, “the first American scholar given access to the Vietnamese archives on the war in Hanoi.” The site offers an overview of the war featuring 20 primary documents and 47 links to related resources both historical and contemporary.
This PBS web site on the Vietnam War is part of the "American Experience" series. It includes an extensive timeline of the war, a "Who's Who" section, information on the weapons of war, the My Lai Massacre, the M.I.A. issue, a list of terms and acronyms used in the war, a list of primary sources, a maps section, personal reflections from people with a connection to the war ("Reflections"), place where readers can share personnel reflections, and a teacher's guide.
American History Online
American History Online This link opens in a new windowSpans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
If you do an advanced search, trying combining keywords on an advanced search.
ABC-CLIO History Databases
Four interactive programs that use primary documents, video, audio, and maps, to cover units in American History, American Government, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, and World History: The Modern Era.
Off Campus Usernames and Passwords
You will need this information to access databases when you are not on campus.