Online Databases and Resources
- Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Contains more than 120,000 articles, websites, images, and videos on a variety of topics.
- Ancient and Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window
- The Modern Era This link opens in a new window Covers history from the Renaissance to today, searchable by time period, regions, or countries.
- CultureGrams This link opens in a new window Provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. Individual reports cover 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces.
- Grolier Online This link opens in a new window Includes Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia and Lands and Peoples.
Library Books in the Reference and Nonfiction Sections
These books are in the reference section of the library (next to the glassed in room with the magazines).
Try these:
- Chronology of European History: 15,000 B.C. to 1997 call numbers: R 940.02 CHR
- Great Events From History: The 17th Century call number: R 909 GRE
- Great Events From History: The 18th Century call number: R 909.47 GRE
Use Destiny (the library's online catalog) to find individual books on your topic (use subject or keyword). Write down the call number from Destiny. Why is this important, you ask? The library has over 20,000 volumes so in order to find the book on the shelves, you'll need the call number!
Ebooks from Salem Press
Cavendish Square Digital - Countries and Cultures
This database has updated information on countries and cultures around the world.
Websites
If you're searching on the web, BEWARE OF WIKIPEDIA. Instead use Webpath Express....someone has already googled for you and chosen the most qualified and helpful sites!